Skip to main content

100 Club of Buffalo Awards 21 Local Students Scholarships

By July 15, 2019Scholarships

June 27, 2019, Buffalo, NY – Twenty-one local high school and university students each received a scholarship from the 100 Club of Buffalo as part of the annual Scholarship of Excellence Program.

The 100 Club provides Scholarships of Excellence of up to $2,000 to high school seniors and full time college students who are the children of, or are themselves active law enforcement, fire or emergency service providers who plan to continue their education at a college level.

Students must apply to be considered for an award and applicants must meet the following criteria:

    • Be the child of or be, an Emergency Responder
    • Serve as a role model for other young adults
    • Demonstrate community involvement
    • Demonstrate extracurricular or employment activity
    • Demonstrate consistent academic achievement throughout high school
    • Exhibit leadership qualities and potential

The 2019 Scholarship of Excellence winners include

Scholarship Recipient Current School First Responder Affiliation
Kristin Adamek Mount St. Mary’s Academy Erie County Sheriff’s Office
Mya Braun Iroquois High School US Customs & Border Protection
Eric Bridges Jr. Canisius High School Buffalo Police Department
Skyler Capozzi Gowanda High School NYSDOC
Jenna Crean Orchard Park High School Cheektowaga Police Department
Jacob Doane Canisius High School Amherst Police Department
Hitch Edwards St. Francis High School NYSP
Jacob Gaydos Niagara Wheatfield High School Niagara County Sheriff’s Department
Sydney Graap Lancaster High School NYSP
Miriam Hoelscher Eden High School Hamburg Volunteer Fire Department
Morgan Kirkpatrick Nardin Academy NYSP
Janel Koeth Lancaster High School Bowmansville Volunteer Fire
Jonathan Kubiak University of Southern California Amherst Police Department
Abigail Lillis Orchard Park High School Buffalo Police Department
Maya Owens Howard University Buffalo Fire Department
Maxwell Pirotta University at Buffalo Twin City Ambulance
Abbigayle Reid Mount Mercy Academy Buffalo Fire Department
Mackenzie Rider-Work Clarence High School Clarence Fire District No. 1
Jason Stuhr Erie Community College Orchard Park EMS
Lucas Theisen St. Francis High School Erie County Sheriff’s Office
Alexander Wright West Seneca East High School West Seneca Police Department


“These young women and men have not only demonstrated outstanding academic achievements but also  leadership and dedication to improving our community.” commented Peter Casilio, president of the 100 Club of Buffalo board of directors. “We are honored to award each with a Scholarship of Excellence from our organization.”

The 100 Club of Buffalo, Inc. is an independent, nonprofit, nonpolitical organization whose sole purpose is to provide service to the members of local law enforcement, fire and emergency medical service agencies and their families. 

Established in 1957 to provide cash assistance to the families of police officers killed in the line of duty. The 100 Club has grown and now provides, along with the death benefit, scholarships, educational assistance and various awards to the members and families of the police, fire and emergency medical service agencies of Western New York. The 100 Club is able to provide assistance through membership dues and service, voluntary contributions and fundraising activities. Through 2018, The 100 Club has collected and distributed more than $3.7 million in Western New York.

More information about the 100 Club of Buffalo and the 2019 Scholarship of Excellence winner is available at